HBYC Club Yachts

This page is to be updated with both Satie (S80) and Rocket Science (Endevor) information on how to hire and further information.



Link to Satie Hire Calendar

Link to SatiePhotos

Policies of use are being developed and will be published here when ready.

This yacht is available for all sailing members to use, provided they have finished a required induction program and at least one person has a Boat License. The new sail number will be H80.

Read the first report for the General Committee here

Task Member Responsible Completed?
Check electronics, replace as necessary John O'Grady In progress
Remove all gear/stocktake Ian Robertson/David Judge Yes
Mast Removal John/Erikkson/Ian Robertson Yes
High Pressure Deck Clean David Judge Yes
Polish topsides Mark Shehan Yes
Lubricate Sail Hanks Maureen Dickins/Callum Yes
Clean interior John Tremewen/Ian Robertson Yes
Paint interior John Tremewen/Ian Robertson In progress
Service Engine Rodney Muller  
Replace Standing Rigging Paul Bartley Marine Yes
Check all deck fittings Gary Cook


Deck scrub with Ajax Dylan Graham and team Yes
Service winches Rod Langham Yes
Vanish Tiller Eddie Mac In progress
Halyard replacement Rodney Langham/Mathew Butterworth  
Remove SM stickers    

Satie Photos

Shakedown crew

The official "Shakedown Crew" on the way to the start line.

Leading the fleet

Satie leads the S80 fleet - this is a fast boat!

Satie 2


Satie before

Interior Before

Satie in progress

Interior During Refit

Hobsons bay
Yacht club

est. 1888
15 August 2016

Hobbo's Ahoy - August 2016 - Updated Calendar

Hobbo's Ahoy - August 2016 The latest Hobsons Aho...

27 July 2016

Tevake II - Sydney Gold Coast Race

Tevake II wil be competing in the 2016 Sydney Gold...

A ship in port is safe, but this is not what ships are built for. Sail out to sea and do new things!

Grace Hopper

View Mobile calendar
30 September 2016

Dare to Dream - Lisa Blair

7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Event Category: Cruising
Location: HBYC

Dare to Dream - LISA BLAIR 

We will be fundraising over the month of September for Lisa.

Her dream is to sail Antarctica, Solo, leaving this December 2016. Yep, you heard that right.

This is Lisa’s website:     www.lisablairsailstheworld.com

Please drop into the HBYC office any loose change you might wish to donate to Lisa, for her adventure of a lifetime. (or we will be roving over September with donation tins during HBYC events regardless)

We will also dedicate a WALL full of BLANK Sticky Notes – write a message for Lisa,  small or big, funny or silly … but on the condition that it has to be a message on climate change action!

We will try to fill every blank sticky note for our HBYC Wall. It will be fun to read as it builds up!

Lisa will be live at Hobbo’s on Friday 30 September for our HBYC Cruising Group night @ 7pm – it’s our chance to meet with Lisa and hear her story and dream of sailing solo to Antarctica and her current preparations!

Our HBYC Wall of Sticky Notes will build up fantastically with your support!



  • Lisa is still actively seeking more messages to go on the bow of her yacht, but Lisa wants these as climate action messages, and not messages of support.  Each message is to be of an action that you (the person filling it out) are already taking towards a sustainable future.  These can be 'I turn off the lights when I leave the room', or 'I walk my kids to school' or 'I don’t use single-use water bottles' … you get the idea.
  • You need to keep the message to less than 15 words, which Lisa will then transfer onto the bow wrap of her yacht.  She will be taking away with her this whole collection of sticky notes that we write for her, and she will literally type them up for her yacht!  That way, we will be sailing around Antarctica with her literally, as she takes on ‘Message actions on climate’ to the world!  It will be a lot of fun, and this will be Hobbo’s way of contributing love and support to Lisa!  Lisa recently raised over 300 more messages at the Sydney International Boat Show!
  • If you agree, for your message on the Post-it note, you can leave your first name for Lisa if you want, town and state on the front and if you would like to receive the blogs of her trip, and you can add your email on the back.  If it is children, then if they can be supervised by an adult to help with their Post it Note and get them to add their age onto the note as well.
  • Just make sure you write properly on the Sticky note, and not write on the HBYC wall, or we will get into trouble by the Commodore or Club Captain or Club Manager! J )
  • Thank you for spending time on your Sticky Note. You can stay at this wall and mull on your Sticky note for as little time as you want, or as much time as you need!

Join the Newsletter